Quick Chopping Board Restoration

A quick restoration job on this nice little chopping board I’d been given many years ago. It’s been “well loved” and my wife had threatened to throw it out, so I thought worth a few minutes to put right!

A beautiful smell was released as I was planing, making me assume this must be camphor wood, or if not something similar. It was a really strong menthol like smell anyway.

So satisfying that after many years, just below the surface is hiding timber as good as it was when it was first made. 

Also very satisfying that with a nice sharp plane, I could give the board an almost polished appearance. I only got out the sandpaper to freshen up the curved edges.

. Like a new one!  Just a few shavings. 

Leave a Reply

