New life for an old bandsaw

What a treat to be given a lovely old bandsaw from an in-law. Most unexpected but enormously appreciated. Despite my lack of space, I just have to make room for this somehow. It is a well loved unit, but this is still a massive upgrade from my teeny tiny bandsaw I picked up last year. This lovely big cast iron bandsaw is a 14″ unit, and will eat my old 6″ unit for breakfast. Just look at the difference between the two! 

My “new” 14 inch bandsaw on the left, my old 6″ on the right

Now having a little guy did have one big advantage, being of course space. I have so little of it and being able to tuck it away under a bench when not is use made a lot of sense. But it had some serious limitations with a tiny 50mm (2″) depth of cut and small and not overly rigid table. This new big brother of the other hand can handle 162mm (6″) height and is a super stable cast iron construction. But being so big I’m going to have to come up with a mobile stand for it so I can juggle space limitations on the go.

But first things first, a good once over before I start using it. Even though it was from a relative, it hasn’t been used much in recent years, so no sense taking chances with safety.

Nothing too drastically wrong with anything. A few dints in the guards and paint flaking here and there; The bearings move freely enough although the bottom bearing has a bit of noise; Blade guides are a joy to adjust compared to my small saw; The table is a little off square but can be adjusted (perhaps from transporting it); The mains wiring looks safe enough with the case properly earthed; There’s a bit of rust on hinges and bolts down low; The motor needed caked on saw dust removed from its cooling fins. The only real fault is the blade itself. I was warned it was a bit blunt, but the biggest issue is it’s actually quite baldy bent in a few places causing it to wobble all over the place. No sense mucking about so I’ll order a replacement before I use it for anything. 

I couldn’t find any branding or model information, but I came up with the following specs. 

  • Power: 3/4 Horsepower
  • Re-saw height: 162mm (6″)
  • Throat: 350mm (13.8″)
  • Table size: 350 x 350mm
  • Table adjust: -10° to 45°

It has no dust extraction port which is a pity as the design doesn’t really provide an obvious path for dust the follow. This is probably why the tyres are pretty badly impregnated with sawdust (I don’t think that’s too much of a problem). Most of those above specs aren’t as good as a modern unit, but mind you I’d be paying at least $800 for a modern one! All in all I think this will do quite nicely. 🙂 

So while I wait for that new blade it’s on to a bit a cleaning and adjustments. Hours of fun.  Lol. 

Some scraping miscellaneous residue built up on the table; hammering out some of the dents in the guards; and some eucalyptus oil to clean off some writing and stains.
    Leave a Reply

    